The IBRO Asia-Pacific Regional Committee (APRC) is the IBRO Regional Committee composed of elected voluntary leadership that focuses on supporting and promoting neuroscience in the Asia-Pacific region based on its specific needs and conditions. Our activities include:

  • Advising IBRO leadership on regional needs, challenges and opportunities
  • Providing resources for Asia-Pacific researchers and those interested in Asia-Pacific neuroscience
  • Serving as IBRO regional ambassadors
  • Developing and proposing the annual budget for IBRO’s Asia-Pacific activities
  • Reviewing Asia-Pacific and global grant applications
  • Holding an annual committee meeting to review, discuss and identify Asia-Pacific neuroscience priorities
  • Working closely with the Federation of Asian-Oceanian Neuroscience Societies (FAONS), the IBRO Asia-Pacific member societies and other Asia-Pacific and global scientific networks to increase brain research and awareness in the region.

To find out more, click on the links below.

IBRO-APRC Committee Members serve for 3-year terms (according to current IBRO Regulations established in November 2022) and have the option to run for re-election once. Candidates for new members are proposed by our Governing Council to the Nominations Committee who then evaluates and shortlists the final candidates. They are then presented to the Governing Council in an online election process that ultimately determines the new members. 

Pike-See Cheah (2017-20; 2021-23, Chair)
Associate Professor
Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
Selangor, Malaysia
Aurnab Ghose (2019-21; 2022-24)
Associate Professor
India Institute of Science Education and Research
Pune, India

Yukiko Goda (2021-23)
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Graduate University
Okinawa, Japan

Tadashi Isa (2017-20; 2021-23)
Kyoto University
Kyoto, Japan
Bronwyn Kivell (2021-23)
Associate Professor
Victoria University of Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand

Battuvshin Lkhagvasuren (2019-24)
Director, Brain Science Institute
Mongolian National University of Medical Sciences
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Abbas Haghparast (2022-24)
Shahid Beheshti University of medical Sciences
Tehran, Iran

Seungbok Lee (2022-24)
Seoul National University
Seoul, South Korea


Join the IBRO Asia-Pacific Regional Committee (APRC) Facebook page!

Do you have breaking neuroscience news to share in the Asia-Pacific region?

Want to find out about grant opportunities for Asia-Pacific researchers?

Eager to link up with other Asia-Pacific researchers and build the Asia-Pacific neuroscience community?

The IBRO-APRC community needs your input to feature the best of Asia-Pacific neuroscience, brain-related research, inspiring science stories, career opportunities and to grow further.

We look forward to connecting with you and welcoming your engagement in building the Asia-Pacific neuroscience community into a strong and supportive research network.