IBRO is pleased to announce the outcome of the August 2022 elections for IBRO Officers and members of the Regional Committees. The elected Officers and members of IBRO Regional Committees for the term January 2023 – December 2025 are:

IBRO Officers

President: Dr. Tracy L. Bale

Dr. Tracy L. Bale is a Professor at the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Colorado, School of Medicine Anschutz campus, in the United States. She is the Ludeman Family Endowed Chair, Women’s Integrated Mental Health Research and the Director of InterGen Health and Sex Differences Research. Dr. Bale obtained her PhD in Neurobiology at the University of Washington and then served as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Peptide Biology Laboratories at The Salk Institute. She later joined the University of Pennsylvania as an Assistant Professor, became a full Professor in 2013 and then moved to the University of Maryland School of Medicine in 2017, where she served as Professor of Pharmacology and Director of the Center for Epigenetic Research in Child Health and Brain Development. Since 2020, Dr. Bale has been the President of IBRO.

Secretary General-elect: Dr. Giuseppe Di Giovanni

Dr. Di Giovanni will serve as Secretary General elect in 2023 and start his term as Secretary General in 2024.

Dr. Giuseppe Di Giovanni is a Professor of Human Physiology and Neuroscience at the University of Malta and an Honorary Professor in the School of Biosciences at Cardiff University. Dr. Di Giovanni obtained his PhD in Neuroscience at the University G. D’Annunzio, Italy. In 2022 , he was elected as a member of the Academia Europaea for the section of Physiology and Neuroscience. Currently, he is the President of the Mediterranean Neuroscience Society (MNS) and an active member of IBRO and the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS), where he serves on their Governing Council.

Treasurer: Dr. Jerome Sanes

Dr. Jerome Sanes is a Professor of Neuroscience and Founding Director of the Brown University MRI Research Facility, in the United States. Dr. Sanes obtained his PhD at the University of Rochester and did his postdoctoral training in the Laboratory of Neurophysiology at the National Institute of Mental Health. He also became a Special Expert and Senior Staff Fellow at the US National Institutes of Health before joining Brown University in 1991 as the Scientific Director of the former Parkinson’s Disease and Motor Disorders Unit. He has served as a Senior Editor and Associate Editor-in-Chief at IBRO’s flagship journal Neuroscience and since 2020, Dr. Sanes has been the Treasurer of IBRO.

IBRO Pan-Europe Regional Committee

Dr. Domna Karagogeos

Dr. Domna Karagogeos is a Professor of Molecular Biology-Developmental Neurobiology at the Department of Basic Science of the University of Crete Medical School and a Collaborating Researcher at the Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology of the Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, in Greece. She has served as a Chair and member of the Committee of Higher Education and Training of FENS, as well as a member of the FENS Governing Council. At national level, she has served as the President and Secretary of the Hellenic Society for Neuroscience.

Dr. José-Luis Lanciego

Dr. José-Luis Lanciego is a Staff Scientist, Head of the Functional Neuroanatomy Basal Ganglia Lab of the Center for Applied Medical Research, University of Navarra and an Associate Professor of Neuroanatomy, at the Department of Anatomy of the University of Navarra, in Spain. Dr. Lanciego obtained his PhD in Medicine & Surgery at the University of Salamanca and did his postdoctoral training in the Department of Neurosciences, Amsterdam Vrije Universiteit, in the Netherlands. Since 2020, Dr. Lanciego has served as a member of IBRO’s Pan-Europe Regional Committee (PERC).

IBRO US/Canada Regional Committee 

Dr. Julie Lefebvre

Dr. Julie Lefebvre is a Senior Scientist at the Hospital for Sick Children and an Assistant Professor of the Department of Molecular Genetics of the University of Toronto, in Canada. Dr. Lefebvre obtained her PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology at the University of Pennsylvania, in the United States, and did her postdoctoral training at Harvard University. Since 2020, Dr. Lefebvre has served as a member of IBRO’s US/Canada Regional Committee (USCRC).

Dr. Ramesh Raghupathi

Dr. Ramesh Raghupathi is a Professor at the Department of Neurobiology & Anatomy of the Drexel University of College of Medicine, in the United States. Dr. Raghupathi obtained his PhD in Biochemistry at the Virginia Commonwealth University and did his postdoctoral training at the Department of Surgery of the University of Connecticut Health Center and at the Division of Neurosurgery of the University of Pennsylvania. Since 2020, Dr. Raghupathi has served as a Member of the Public Education and Communication Committee of the Society for Neuroscience and as a Board member of IBRO-USCRC.