International Brain Bee


IBRO is pleased to be a part of the formal establishment of the International Brain Bee organization (IBB), as a non-profit educational organization incorporated in the U.S. This milestone event in 2018 was made possible through a partnership and funding commitment from five founding organizations: the American Psychological Association (APA), the Dana Foundation, the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS), IBRO and the Society for Neuroscience (SfN). 

The program was founded in 1998 by Dr. Norbert Myslinski of the University of Maryland with 12 chapters across North America, in response to the growing incidence rates of neurological diseases. In his words, “The purpose of the IBB is to motivate young men and women to learn about the human brain and to inspire them to enter careers in research and clinical brain sciences. The world needs future clinicians and researchers to treat and find cures for thousands of neurological and psychological disorders.”


Past International Champions

1999: David Alpay: Earl Haig High School, Toronto, Ontario, CANADA

2000: Otilia Husu: Mountain Ridge High School, Glendale, Arizona, UNITED STATES

2001: Arjun Bharioke: Churchill Junior High, New Providence, New Jersey, UNITED STATES

2002: Marvin Chum: Earl Haig High School, Toronto, Ontario, CANADA

2003: Saroj Kunnakkat: Lynbrook High School, New York City, New York, UNITED STATES

2004: Bhaktapriya Nagalla: Farmington High School in Connecticut, UNITED STATES

2005: John Liu: Michigan High School, Berea, Ohio, UNITED STATES

2006: Jong Park, UT High School, Toronto, Ontario, CANADA

2007: Melody Hu, Wayzata High School, Minneapolis, MN, UNITED STATES

2008: Elena Perry, Richard Montgomary High School, Bethesda, MD UNITED STATES

2009: Julia Chartove, Richard Montgomary High School, Bethesda, MD UNITED STATES

2010: Ritika Chohani, Prabhavati Padamshi Soni International college, Mumbai, INDIA

2011: Thanh-Liem Huynh-Tran, Cate School, Carpinteria, California, UNITED STATES

2012: Teresa Tang, Brisbane State High School, Queensland, AUSTRALIA

2013: Jackson Huang, Academy for Science, Mathematics and Technology, Queensland, AUSTRALIA

2014: Gayathri Muthukumar, National Public School, Bangalore, INDIA

2015: Jade Pham, James Ruse Agricultural High School, Carlingford, AUSTRALIA

2016: Ana Ghenciulescu, “Mihai Viteazul” National College Bucharest, ROMANIA

2017: Sojas Wagle, Har-Ber High School, Arkansas, UNITED STATES

2018: Piotr Oleksy, Liceum Ogółnokształcące High School, Cracow, POLAND

2019: Yidou (Gwen) Weng, Jiangxi Normal University, Nanchang, CHINA

2020: Cancelled due to COVID-19