Executive Committee


The Executive Committee is chaired by the Secretary General and works to implement the initiatives of the Governing Council. The Executive Committee makes decisions about the acceptance of Member Organizations of IBRO and elects Directors for the various programmes mandated by the Governing Council, and Liaison Officers with other organizations, and receives their reports. The Executive Committee also makes temporary appointments of officers and committee members when necessary, and approves the annual budget along with the IBRO Finance Committee.


Tracy L. Bale (President)
University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus

Giuseppe Di Giovanni (Secretary General)
University of Malta

Jerome Sanes (Treasurer)
Brown University

Chairs of the Regional Committees

Africa: Desire Tshala-Katumbay
University of Kinshasa; Democratic Republic of Congo
Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU); USA

Asia-Pacific: Yukiko Goda
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Graduate University

Latin America: Carolina Escobar-Briones
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Pan-Europe: José Luis Lanciego Perez
Center for Applied Medical Research, University of Navarra

US/Canada: Michela Fagiolini
Boston Children’s Hospital

Non-Voting Members

IBRO-ECC Representative: Srikanth Ramaswamy
Newcastle University

Lars Kristiansen
IBRO Executive Director