IBRO is delighted to announce that Dr. Tanya Calvey has been elected by our Governing Council as the new Chair of the IBRO Nominating Committee.

The Nominating Committee nominates IBRO officers, members of the Regional Committees and Honorary Members in accordance with the By-Laws (Article XXIII). Ensuring that IBRO maintains excellence in its leadership, the committee will benefit greatly from Dr. Calvey’s knowledge and expertise.

Tanya Calvey obtained her PhD in neuroscience at the University of Witswatersrand and is a lecturer at the School of Anatomical Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa. Dr. Calvey researches animal and human neuropsychopharmacology, evolutionary biology and addiction medicine. She is actively involved in developing neuroscience in Africa. 

She is the founder of the Wits Cortex Club, the course coordinator of the new BHSc Honours in Neuroscience at the University of the Witwatersrand, the Chair of the Southern African Neuroscience Society, a governing council member of the Society of Neuroscientists of Africa (SONA) and the African Representative for the Network of Early Career Professionals working in Addiction Medicine (NECPAM).

It is an honour to continue to serve an organization that played a fundamental role in developing my own career as a neuroscientist and the careers of so many other neuroscientists in Africa”.